Waterfall model (i.e. following frameworks such as PMI’s PMBoK or OGC PRINCE2)

There are variations of the waterfall model. They follow a structure (as per PMBOK) where there is an Initiation process, followed by Planning, Execution, and Closure. There may be various phases for each PMBOK process group (e.g. PMBOK Planning process comprises the Requirements phase and Design phase). Funny enough, the Monitoring and Control process does not always get reflected in the SDLC models -or some may add some form of Gate Reviews between phases-.


SDLC for a Web Project

Web project life cycle - click to enlarge


Another example with different SDLC phases:

  • Selecting and Initiating Projects. Vision, Scope and writting the Project Charter. Getting and communicating rough Estimations with high uncertainty.
  • Requirements Analysis. What are the detailed problems or opportunities?
  • Design of the Solution. Committing deliverables at a determined date and cost. Re-estimating and Baselining the Schedule.
  • Execution 1: Build. Following the Plan as Designed.
  • Execution 2: Test. Have we done what was asked in the Requirements? Getting user/customer acceptance.
  • Execution 3: Implement/Launch/Deliver
  • Closing the Project. Why to document Lessons Learned?

Agile model (i.e. Scrum, Xtreme Programming, others)